PERSONAL INJURY | 2026-10-23

"Own-Occupation" Versus "Any-Occupation" Disability Insurance in California: Why One Clause Decides Whether a Disabled Professional Gets Paid

The single most important phrase in a disability policy is how it defines "total disability." An "own-occupation" policy pays when you cannot perform the substantial and material duties of your own profession; an "any-occupation" policy pays only when you cannot work at all. California courts construe ambiguities against the insurer and punish bad-faith claim handling — as the Ninth Circuit confirmed in Hangarter v. Provident Life & Accident Insurance Co.

For a surgeon who can no longer operate, a dentist with a tremor, or a litigator who can no longer stand through trial, a disability insurance policy is often the difference between financial security and ruin. But whether that policy actually pays turns on a single definitional clause that most pol

Disability insurance is bought to answer one question: if I cannot do my job, will I still be paid? The answer lives almost entirely in how the policy defines "total disability," and in a handful of related clauses that determine when and for how long benefits are owed. Two policies with identical premiums and identical monthly benefits can reach opposite conclusions on the same medical facts, because one is written on an own-occupation basis and the other on an any-occupation basis. For California professionals — physicians, dentists, lawyers, and other specialists whose livelihoods depend on specific physical and cognitive capacities — understanding this distinction before a claim, and enforcing it during one, is essential. This article walks through the definitions, the clauses that interact with them, and the California insurance law that governs when an insurer disputes the claim.

The Core Distinction: Own-Occupation Versus Any-Occupation

The defining difference between the two policy types is the benchmark occupation against which disability is measured. Under a true "own-occupation" definition, the insured is totally disabled when he or she is unable to perform the substantial and material duties of his or her own occupation — the specific occupation the insured was engaged in at the time disability began. A surgeon who develops a hand tremor that makes operating impossible is totally disabled under an own-occupation policy even though the surgeon could still teach, consult, or practice non-surgical medicine. Under an "any-occupation" definition, by contrast, the insured is totally disabled only when he or she cannot perform the duties of any occupation for which he or she is reasonably fitted by education, training, and experience. That same surgeon, able to teach or consult, would likely not be totally disabled under an any-occupation policy. The clause thus determines the entire outcome: own-occupation protects the insured’s chosen career; any-occupation protects only against total unemployability.

Why Professionals Pay for Own-Occupation Coverage

Own-occupation coverage is more expensive precisely because it pays in far more situations. Highly trained professionals — physicians, surgeons, dentists, trial lawyers, and other specialists — invest years and enormous sums in acquiring occupation-specific skills, and they earn accordingly. A disability that forecloses the specialty but not all work would be financially catastrophic even though the person could technically earn some income elsewhere. Own-occupation coverage is designed to protect that specialized earning capacity, which is why it is marketed to and purchased by professionals. Many policies are written as "true own-occupation", meaning benefits continue even if the insured chooses to work in a different occupation and earns income there; other policies use a modified or "transitional" definition that reduces or offsets benefits if the insured earns income in another field. Reading which variant the policy uses is critical, because the label "own-occupation" alone does not settle whether other-occupation earnings reduce the benefit.

What "Substantial and Material Duties" Means

The own-occupation definition hinges on the phrase "substantial and material duties" of the insured’s occupation. This is not a requirement that the insured be unable to perform every task — it asks whether the insured can perform the important, defining tasks of the occupation. For a surgeon, operating is a substantial and material duty; for a trial lawyer, appearing in court and sustaining the physical and cognitive demands of trial may be. The Ninth Circuit in Hangarter v. Provident Life & Accident Insurance Co. (9th Cir. 2004) 373 F.3d 998 — a case involving a chiropractor whose shoulder and hand impairments prevented her from performing hands-on adjustments — recognized that total disability under an own-occupation policy turns on the inability to perform the substantial and material duties of the insured’s occupation in the usual and customary way, with reasonable continuity. The insured need not prove utter helplessness; the question is whether the core functions of the profession can still be carried out as they normally must be.

Total Disability Versus Residual (Partial) Disability

Most modern disability policies distinguish total disability from residual or partial disability. A residual-disability provision pays a proportional benefit when the insured can still work but suffers a loss of income (often defined as a 20 percent or greater loss) because of the disabling condition — for example, a dentist who can work only limited hours or perform only some procedures. The interaction between the total-disability definition and the residual clause is frequently where disputes arise: an insurer may argue that an insured who can perform some occupational duties is only residually disabled (and entitled to a reduced benefit), while the insured contends that the inability to perform the substantial and material duties renders the disability total. Getting this characterization right — total versus residual — can mean a very large difference in benefits, and it is a recurring battleground in disability claims.

The "Regular Occupation" and Specialty Problem

A related and heavily litigated question is how the insured’s occupation is defined in the first place. Is the insured’s occupation the broad field (medicine, dentistry, law) or the specific specialty actually practiced (invasive cardiology, oral surgery, trial litigation)? The narrower the occupation is defined, the easier it is for the insured to be totally disabled from it. Policies and courts often look to the insured’s actual duties as performed immediately before the disability, rather than to a generic job title. For a specialist who spent the vast majority of professional time performing a particular set of tasks, the occupation is generally the specialty as actually practiced — not a theoretical broader category the insured could retrain into. How the occupation is characterized is therefore a core strategic and evidentiary issue in any own-occupation claim.

California’s Rule: Ambiguities Construed Against the Insurer

Where policy language is ambiguous, California law resolves the ambiguity against the insurer that drafted it and in favor of coverage, consistent with the insured’s objectively reasonable expectations. Insurance policies are interpreted to protect those reasonable expectations, and because the insurer writes the contract, any genuine uncertainty in a disputed clause is read in the policyholder’s favor. This principle has direct force in disability disputes: if a definition of "total disability," "own occupation," or "substantial and material duties" is reasonably susceptible to the insured’s reading, that reading generally prevails. The rule does not rewrite clear language, but it is a powerful tool when an insurer advances a strained, coverage-defeating interpretation of an ambiguous clause.

Insurance Bad Faith: Hangarter and the Duty of Good Faith

California implies in every insurance contract a covenant of good faith and fair dealing, which obligates the insurer to give at least as much consideration to the insured’s interests as to its own and forbids it from unreasonably withholding policy benefits. When an insurer denies or terminates a disability claim without proper cause, it breaches that covenant and commits the tort of bad faith, exposing it to damages beyond the policy benefits — including emotional-distress and, in appropriate cases, punitive damages. In Hangarter v. Provident Life & Accident Insurance Co. (9th Cir. 2004) 373 F.3d 998, the Ninth Circuit, applying California law, affirmed a judgment against disability insurers that had terminated a professional’s own-occupation benefits, upholding findings that the insurers engaged in unreasonable claims practices — including reliance on biased medical examinations and targeting of claims for termination — and sustaining the award of compensatory and punitive damages. Hangarter is a landmark illustration that a California disability insurer cannot safely terminate a legitimate own-occupation claim on a pretextual basis.

Common Insurer Tactics in Disputed Disability Claims

Disability-claim disputes tend to follow recognizable patterns. Insurers may commission "independent" medical examinations with physicians who repeatedly find claimants able to work; conduct surveillance seeking footage of the insured performing any physical activity; recharacterize the insured’s occupation broadly to argue the insured can still perform some version of it; characterize a total disability as merely residual; or demand burdensome, repetitive proof-of-loss documentation. Under California law, each of these tactics is permissible only if conducted reasonably and in good faith. An investigation that is one-sided — crediting only evidence that supports denial and ignoring the insured’s treating physicians — can itself be evidence of bad faith. The insurer must conduct a thorough, fair investigation and may not single-mindedly build a case for denial.

ERISA Versus Individual Policies

A crucial threshold issue is whether the disability policy is an individual policy the insured purchased directly or a group policy provided through an employer’s benefit plan. Employer-provided group disability coverage is typically governed by the federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), which preempts state bad-faith remedies, limits recovery largely to the benefits due, often imposes deferential "abuse of discretion" review, and channels disputes into federal court on the administrative record. By contrast, an individually purchased disability policy is governed by California state law, including the full range of bad-faith and punitive-damages remedies illustrated by Hangarter. Because the available remedies differ so dramatically, determining at the outset whether ERISA applies is one of the most consequential steps in any disability dispute, and it shapes the entire litigation strategy.

Proving a Disability Claim

Whatever the definition, the insured bears the initial burden of proving disability, and the quality of the proof often decides the claim. Strong claims are built on detailed treating-physician documentation tying specific impairments to specific occupational duties; a clear occupational description establishing the substantial and material duties actually performed before disability; vocational evidence where the occupation’s definition is disputed; and a careful record of the insurer’s claim handling to preserve a bad-faith claim if one arises. Where benefits are terminated after being paid, the insured should scrutinize what changed — because an insurer that paid for years and then abruptly terminates without a genuine change in the insured’s condition may be acting unreasonably. Preserving the full claim file and all communications is essential.

Practical Guidance for California Policyholders

Professionals should read the definition of total disability in their policies before they are ever hurt, confirm whether coverage is own-occupation or any-occupation, and understand whether an own-occupation policy is "true" or "modified." When a claim is denied or terminated, policyholders should obtain the complete claim file, preserve all correspondence, continue their medical treatment and documentation, and avoid giving recorded statements or signing broad authorizations without understanding their effect. Because the difference between the two definitions, the total-versus-residual characterization, the ERISA threshold, and the availability of bad-faith remedies can each turn a claim, policyholders facing a disputed disability claim benefit from counsel experienced in California insurance law who can enforce the policy’s real meaning and hold an unreasonable insurer accountable.

Mental, Cognitive, and "Self-Reported" Condition Limits

Own-occupation and any-occupation definitions apply to cognitive and psychiatric impairments just as they do to physical ones — a professional whose anxiety, depression, or cognitive decline prevents performance of the substantial and material duties of the occupation can be totally disabled under an own-occupation policy. But these claims draw heightened scrutiny and often collide with special policy clauses. Many disability policies contain a limitation on benefits for mental or nervous conditions, frequently capping such benefits at a shorter maximum period (commonly two years) than the lifetime or to-age-65 benefit available for physical disabilities. Policies may also limit benefits for conditions supported primarily by self-reported symptoms. These clauses can become battlegrounds when an insurer characterizes a disabling condition as "mental/nervous" or "self-reported" to trigger the shorter cap, while the insured contends the condition is physical or objectively documented. Because the characterization can cut years of benefits, policyholders should scrutinize these limitation clauses and document objective findings wherever possible, and California’s rule construing ambiguous clauses against the insurer applies with full force to disputes over which limitation, if any, applies.

Related Guides

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the difference between own-occupation and any-occupation disability insurance?

An own-occupation policy pays total-disability benefits when you cannot perform the substantial and material duties of your own occupation, even if you could work in another field. An any-occupation policy pays only when you cannot perform the duties of any occupation for which you are reasonably suited by education, training, and experience. On identical facts, the two produce opposite results.

Which type of policy is better for a professional?

Own-occupation coverage is generally far more protective for physicians, dentists, lawyers, and other specialists because it protects the specialized career they trained for, paying even if a disability forecloses the specialty but not all work. It costs more precisely because it pays in more situations. Any-occupation coverage pays only in cases of near-total unemployability.

What does "substantial and material duties" mean?

It refers to the important, defining tasks of your occupation — not every task. You are totally disabled under an own-occupation policy when you cannot perform those core duties in the usual and customary way with reasonable continuity, as the Ninth Circuit recognized in Hangarter v. Provident Life & Accident Insurance Co. (9th Cir. 2004) 373 F.3d 998. You need not prove total helplessness.

What is residual or partial disability?

A residual-disability provision pays a proportional benefit when you can still work but suffer a defined income loss (often 20 percent or more) because of your condition. Insurers frequently argue a claim is only residual when the insured contends it is total — a characterization that can mean a large difference in benefits.

Does California law protect me if my insurer denies a legitimate claim?

Yes. California implies a covenant of good faith and fair dealing in every insurance contract. An insurer that unreasonably denies or terminates a legitimate claim commits the tort of bad faith and can face damages beyond the benefits, including emotional-distress and punitive damages, as Hangarter illustrates. Ambiguities in the policy are construed against the insurer. Call Trembach Law Firm at (213) 645-2246.

What is the Hangarter case?

Hangarter v. Provident Life & Accident Insurance Co. (9th Cir. 2004) 373 F.3d 998 is a leading decision applying California law in which the Ninth Circuit affirmed a judgment, including punitive damages, against disability insurers that unreasonably terminated a professional’s own-occupation benefits through biased examinations and improper claims practices.

Does it matter if my policy came through my employer?

Yes, enormously. Employer-provided group disability coverage is usually governed by federal ERISA, which preempts California bad-faith remedies, limits recovery largely to the benefits due, and imposes deferential review. An individually purchased policy is governed by California state law with its full bad-faith and punitive-damages remedies. Determining which applies is a critical first step.

What should I do if my disability benefits are terminated?

Obtain the complete claim file, preserve all correspondence, continue and document your medical treatment, scrutinize what the insurer says changed, and be cautious about recorded statements or broad authorizations. Because the definitions, the ERISA question, and bad-faith remedies can each turn the claim, consult experienced California insurance counsel promptly. Call Trembach Law Firm at (213) 645-2246.

Talk to a California Disability-Insurance Lawyer

If your disability insurer has denied or terminated benefits you are owed, the difference between "own-occupation" and "any-occupation" coverage, the total-versus-residual characterization, and whether California bad-faith law applies can decide your claim. Trembach Law Firm, led by Anatolii Trembach (LL.M.; admitted in California), enforces the real meaning of disability policies, challenges unreasonable denials and terminations, and pursues the bad-faith remedies California law provides. Call (213) 645-2246 for a confidential consultation.

Contact Trembach Law Firm at (818) 514-7680 for a confidential consultation.

Trembach Law Firm | 27001 Agoura Road, Suite 350, Calabasas, CA 91301