PERSONAL INJURY | 2026-10-27

When Insurance Will Not Cover an Intentional Act: Insurance Code §533, the Willful-Acts Bar, and J.C. Penney Casualty v. M.K. in California

California law forbids insurance for a loss the insured caused by a willful act. Insurance Code §533 is read into every liability policy as an implied exclusion, and J.C. Penney Casualty v. M.K. (1991) explains when conduct is "willful" enough to bar coverage. For injury victims and policyholders alike, §533 often decides whether there is any insurance money at all.

When someone is injured by another person’s conduct, the practical question is often whether insurance will pay. For negligence, liability insurance typically responds. But California has a statute that forbids insurance from covering certain deliberate wrongdoing. Insurance Code §533 provides that

Liability insurance is the engine that makes most injury compensation possible: the defendant’s insurer defends the claim and pays the settlement or judgment up to the policy limits. But California public policy draws a line at deliberate wrongdoing. A person should not be able to buy insurance against the consequences of intentionally harming others, because that would remove the deterrent against doing so and would let wrongdoers profit from their own misconduct. Insurance Code §533 enforces that policy. This article explains what §533 says, how courts decide whether conduct is "willful," why negligence is still covered, and how the statute affects both injury victims and policyholders.

What Insurance Code §533 Says

Insurance Code §533 provides: "An insurer is not liable for a loss caused by the willful act of the insured; but he is not exonerated by the negligence of the insured, or of the insured’s agents or others." The statute does two things in one sentence. It bars coverage for a loss caused by the insured’s willful act, and it confirms that coverage is not defeated by the insured’s mere negligence. Both halves matter. The first is the source of the willful-acts exclusion; the second makes clear that the vast run of ordinary and even careless conduct remains insurable. The statute reflects a legislative judgment, not merely a contractual term.

§533 Is an Implied Exclusion in Every Policy

A critical feature of §533 is that it operates by law, not by the words of the policy. In J.C. Penney Casualty Insurance Co. v. M.K. (1991) 52 Cal.3d 1009, the California Supreme Court held that §533 is an implied exclusionary clause that is, by statute, read into all insurance policies. This means an insurer can rely on §533 to deny coverage for a willful act even if the policy contains no intentional-acts exclusion, and even if the policy’s express exclusion is narrower than the statute. Because §533 is a statute, it cannot be waived by the policy language or by the parties’ agreement. For both insurers and claimants, this makes §533 a backstop that applies regardless of what the policy form happens to say.

What Makes an Act "Willful" Under §533

The central interpretive question is what counts as a willful act. Historically, some courts required a dual intent: an intent to do the act and an intent to cause the resulting harm. In J.C. Penney, the Supreme Court retreated from that rigid two-pronged test for certain conduct. The Court held that a preconceived design to inflict injury is not required under §533 when the harm is inherent in the act itself. Some acts — the Court’s example was the sexual molestation of a child — are "always wrongful" and "always harmful," so the intent to injure is inferred as a matter of law from the commission of the act. For such inherently harmful conduct, the insurer need not prove the insured subjectively intended the specific harm; the willful character of the act establishes the §533 bar.

The General Standard for Other Conduct

Outside the category of inherently harmful acts, California courts apply a standard drawn from cases such as Shell Oil Co. v. Winterthur Swiss Insurance Co. (1993) 12 Cal.App.4th 715. Under that formulation, a willful act within the meaning of §533 is one deliberately done for the express purpose of causing damage, or intentionally performed with knowledge that damage is highly probable or substantially certain to result. This covers both the actor who intends the harm and the actor who proceeds in the face of near-certain harm. The key distinction from negligence is the actor’s state of mind: §533 reaches intended or substantially-certain harm, not harm that results from carelessness, inadvertence, or even a conscious disregard that falls short of substantial certainty.

Negligence Is Always Covered

The second half of §533 is as important as the first. The statute expressly states that the insurer is not exonerated by the negligence of the insured. California courts have held that no form of negligence — ordinary or gross — amounts to a §533 "willful act." As the J.C. Penney Court noted, nothing short of the statute’s willful act defeats coverage. This means that an insured whose carelessness, even extreme carelessness, causes injury remains covered, so long as the conduct does not cross into intended or substantially-certain harm. For injury victims, this is the reason that ordinary accident claims — car crashes, premises injuries, and the like — are insured even when the defendant was very much at fault.

Why §533 Matters to Injury Victims

For a person injured by another’s conduct, §533 can determine whether there is any insurance money to recover. If the defendant’s conduct was negligent, the liability policy typically responds, and the victim can look to the insurer for defense and payment. If the conduct was willful within §533, the insurer can deny coverage, leaving the victim to collect, if at all, from the defendant’s personal assets — which are often insufficient. The characterization of the defendant’s conduct therefore has enormous practical consequences. A victim’s counsel evaluates whether the claim can be framed and proven as negligence where the facts support it, because a negligence theory preserves access to coverage that a willful-act theory would destroy.

The Duty to Defend and §533

Even where §533 may ultimately bar indemnity, the insurer’s duty to defend is broader and is measured differently. An insurer must defend whenever the claim potentially falls within coverage, based on the allegations and the facts known to the insurer. A complaint that alleges both negligent and intentional conduct can trigger the duty to defend, because at least one theory is potentially covered. The insurer typically responds by defending under a reservation of rights and may seek a declaration that §533 bars indemnity. The interplay between the narrow §533 indemnity bar and the broad duty to defend frequently shapes how a disputed-coverage case unfolds, and it is governed by the duty-to-defend principles California developed in cases like Gray v. Zurich and Montrose Chemical.

Severability and Innocent Co-Insureds

A recurring issue is whether one insured’s willful act bars coverage for another insured who was merely negligent. Because §533 bars coverage for the loss caused by "the insured" who committed the willful act, California courts have recognized that an innocent co-insured — for example, a parent sued for negligent supervision alongside a child who committed an intentional act — may retain coverage for the innocent party’s own independent negligence, depending on the policy’s severability language and the facts. The analysis is fact-specific and turns on whether the innocent insured’s liability rests on separate, non-willful conduct. This can be decisive where a negligent-supervision or negligent-entrustment theory is pleaded alongside an intentional tort.

Punitive Damages and Related Bars

Section §533 is part of a broader California public policy against insuring certain wrongdoing. Related rules include Civil Code §1668, which voids contracts that purport to exempt a party from responsibility for willful injury to another, and the established rule that punitive damages — awarded under Civil Code §3294 for malice, oppression, or fraud — are generally not insurable in California as a matter of public policy. These doctrines work together: a defendant cannot use insurance to shift to an insurer the consequences of conduct the law deems deliberately wrongful or deserving of punishment. Understanding how §533 fits with these related bars helps both sides assess what portion of a mixed claim is realistically covered.

How Coverage Disputes Over §533 Are Resolved

When an insurer invokes §533, the dispute is often resolved through a declaratory-relief action in which the insurer asks a court to determine whether the willful-acts bar applies. The factual record — what the insured actually did and with what state of mind — drives the result, and the outcome of any underlying criminal or civil proceeding can bear on it. For inherently harmful acts, the §533 bar may be established as a matter of law; for other conduct, whether the act was "willful" within the Shell Oil standard may be a contested factual question. Both injury victims and policyholders benefit from early, careful analysis of how §533 is likely to apply before positions harden.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does Insurance Code §533 do?

It provides that an insurer is not liable for a loss caused by the willful act of the insured, but is not exonerated by the insured’s negligence. In other words, California law bars insurance coverage for deliberate wrongdoing while preserving coverage for careless conduct.

Does §533 apply even if my policy has no intentional-acts exclusion?

Yes. Under J.C. Penney Casualty v. M.K. (1991) 52 Cal.3d 1009, §533 is an implied exclusionary clause read by statute into all insurance policies. An insurer can rely on it to deny coverage for a willful act even if the policy contains no express intentional-acts exclusion.

What makes an act "willful" under §533?

For conduct that is inherently harmful, such as child molestation, intent to injure is inferred as a matter of law and no preconceived design to harm need be proven (J.C. Penney). For other conduct, a willful act is one done for the express purpose of causing damage, or performed with knowledge that damage is highly probable or substantially certain (Shell Oil v. Winterthur (1993) 12 Cal.App.4th 715).

Does §533 bar coverage for negligence?

No. The statute expressly says the insurer is not exonerated by the insured’s negligence, and California courts hold that no form of negligence, ordinary or gross, is a §533 "willful act." Ordinary accident claims remain insured even when the defendant was very much at fault.

Why does §533 matter if I was injured by someone?

Because it can decide whether insurance will pay. If the defendant acted negligently, the liability policy typically responds. If the conduct was willful under §533, the insurer can deny coverage, leaving you to collect from the defendant’s personal assets, which are often insufficient.

Does the insurer still have to defend if it claims §533 applies?

Often yes. The duty to defend is broader than the duty to indemnify and arises whenever a claim is potentially covered. A complaint alleging both negligence and intentional conduct can trigger a defense, typically provided under a reservation of rights while the insurer seeks a ruling on §533.

Can an innocent family member still have coverage?

Possibly. Where an innocent co-insured is sued for independent negligence, such as negligent supervision, alongside another insured who committed a willful act, the innocent party may retain coverage depending on the policy’s severability language and the facts. The analysis is fact-specific.

Are punitive damages insurable in California?

Generally no. Punitive damages awarded under Civil Code §3294 are generally not insurable as a matter of California public policy, which aligns with §533 and Civil Code §1668. A defendant cannot use insurance to shift the consequences of deliberately wrongful conduct.

§533 Versus the Policy’s "Occurrence" and "Accident" Requirement

Section 533 is not the only coverage hurdle for intentional conduct. A standard liability policy covers damages caused by an "occurrence," usually defined as an accident. California courts have held that an act is not an "accident" when the insured intended both the act and the harm, so intentional-tort claims frequently fall outside the coverage grant in the first place, before §533 is even reached. The two inquiries overlap but are distinct: whether there was an occurrence is a question of the policy’s coverage grant, while §533 is a statutory exclusion that applies even to losses otherwise within coverage. A deliberate assault, for example, may fail the "accident" requirement and independently trigger the §533 bar. Understanding both doctrines matters because a plaintiff seeking coverage must clear the occurrence requirement and avoid the willful-acts bar, while an insurer need prevail on only one to defeat indemnity.

The Line Between Intentional Conduct and Unintended Consequences

Many cases fall in a middle zone: the insured intended the act but says the harm was unintended. A punch thrown in anger is intentional, but the defendant may claim he did not mean to cause a brain injury. California courts analyze whether the resulting harm was intended or substantially certain to follow, and whether the conduct is of a type whose harm is inherent. Where the harm is a direct and foreseeable consequence of a deliberate wrongful act, §533 is likely to bar coverage; where the insured’s conduct was reckless or negligent and the specific harm was neither intended nor substantially certain, coverage may remain. This is a fact-intensive inquiry, and it is frequently litigated because the characterization determines whether the injured party can look to the insurer or only to the defendant personally.

First-Party Versus Third-Party Coverage

Section 533 applies across lines of insurance, but its practical operation differs between third-party liability coverage and first-party property coverage. In the third-party context, §533 bars the insurer from indemnifying the insured for liability imposed because of the insured’s willful act — the situation that most affects injury victims. In the first-party context, the related concern is an insured who intentionally destroys his own insured property, such as arson, where coverage is barred both by the policy and by §533 and related fraud principles. In both settings the statute enforces the same policy: insurance is a device for spreading the cost of fortuitous losses, not a means of financing or profiting from deliberate wrongdoing. Recognizing which type of coverage is at issue helps frame how §533 and the policy’s own terms interact. The fortuity principle also explains why courts resist reading §533 so broadly that it would swallow coverage for ordinary negligence: if every careless act that happened to involve some element of intent were treated as willful, liability insurance would cover little of what people actually buy it to cover. California’s cases therefore police the boundary carefully, confining §533 to genuinely deliberate or substantially-certain harm and leaving the broad field of negligent and accidental injury within the protection the policy promises.

Related Guides

For related reading, see our guide on why waiver and estoppel cannot create insurance coverage under Waller v. Truck Insurance Exchange and our personal-injury practice overview. Whether a defendant’s conduct is "willful" or merely negligent often decides whether there is any insurance money to recover.

Speak With a California Attorney About Coverage

If you were injured by someone’s conduct and an insurer is disputing coverage, or if you are a policyholder facing a reservation of rights under Insurance Code §533, the willful-versus-negligent line may decide the outcome. Trembach Law Firm analyzes how §533 and the J.C. Penney standard apply, evaluates the duty to defend, and works to preserve access to coverage where the facts support a negligence theory. Call (213) 645-2246 for a consultation. Anatolii Trembach holds an LL.M. and is admitted to the California Bar.

This article provides general information about California insurance law and is not legal advice. Coverage questions are fact-specific and depend on the policy and the conduct at issue. Consult a qualified attorney about your particular situation.

Contact Trembach Law Firm at (818) 514-7680 for a confidential consultation.

Trembach Law Firm | 27001 Agoura Road, Suite 350, Calabasas, CA 91301